Board of Trustees

Susanne Baer
Judge, Federal Constitutional Court of Germany; William W. Cook Global Law Professor, University of Michigan; Professor of Public Law and Gender Studies, Humboldt University of Berlin

Heinz Fischer, President
Former Austrian President

Timothy Garton Ash
Historian; Professor of European Studies, Oxford University

Ira Katznelson
Interim Provost; Ruggles Professor of Political Science and History; Deputy Director, Columbia University

Ana Palacio
Founder of Palacio y Asociados (Madrid, Brussels and Washington DC); serves on the Consejo de Estado del Reino de España (Council of State)

Wolfgang Petritsch
President of the Austrian Institute for International Affairs

Vesna Pusić, Vice President
Former First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign and European Affairs of Croatia

Dariusz Stola, Vice President
Historian; Professor at the Institute for Political Studies, Polish Academy of Sciences

Ivan Vejvoda, Acting Rector
IWM Permanent Fellow, Head of the Europe's Futures Program at the IWM.

Board of Patrons

Giuliano Amato
Professor em. of Law at the Sapienza University of Rome and at the European University Institute, Florence; former Prime Minister and Minister of the Interior of Italy

Joschka Fischer
Senior Strategic Counsel to The Albright Stonebridge Group LLC; former Foreign Minister and Vice-Chancellor of Germany

Peter Mitterbauer
Former President and CEO of Miba AG, Laakirchen; former Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Austrian Industry-Holding Stock Corporation (ÖIAG), Vienna

Christopher Schönberger
Partner of Peters, Schönberger & Partner GbR, Munich

Karel Schwarzenberg, Chair
Former First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic, Prague/Vienna

George Soros
Founder and Chairman of the Open Society Foundation, New York

Academic Advisory Board

Shlomo Avineri
Jerusalem (Political Science)

Ute Frevert
Berlin (History)

Timothy Garton Ash
Oxford (European Studies and History)

John Gray
London (Political Philosophy)

Amy Gutmann
Pennsylvania (Political Science)

Michael Ignatieff
Vienna (History)

Ira Katznelson, Vice Chair
New York (Political Science and History)

Ton Nijhuis
Amsterdam (German Studies)

Helga Nowotny
Vienna/Zurich (Sociology)

Claus Offe
Berlin (Sociology and Political Science)

Anton Pelinka
Innsbruck/Wien (Political Science)

Ulrich K. Preuß
Berlin (Public Law and Politics)

Pierre Rosanvallon, Vice Chair
Paris (Political Science)

Michael J. Sandel
Harvard (Political Philosophy)

Saskia Sassen
New York (Sociology)

Dieter Simon
Berlin (Law)

Aleksander Smolar, Vice Chair
Paris/Warsaw (Political Science)

Dariusz Stola
Warsaw (History)

Charles Taylor, Chair
Montreal/Vienna (Philosophy)